Game Design & Documentation

Talk about anything and everything game dev-related here!
Hey guys was just wondering. Do you guys write design documentation before you start writing a game? OR do you guys just get a general idea and then just brain storm as you are creating? It would seem it would be better to plan things out at least the Systems so you are not just randomly coding and figure out the way you are doing it is not good. How did you guys tackle games when it was just the two of you. As I am a programmer and I am currently looking for an Artist and more then likely it will just be the two of us. (We can make it we Try...) LOL. If you do document your games and chance on releasing an version of a Design Document?

Far as everyone knows, they make it up as they go along... much like the rest of their lives. XD How else would you explain their random eclecticism?

We go on brainstorming, iteration, prototyping, and consensus, all tied together by the "good enough" principle.

Typically, Sam and Seth (and now Tiffa) first sit down and brainstorm the loops, core mechanics, core interactions, and background lore for a new portion of the game. Typically this is a 0.5-2hr discussion, with a lot of whiteboarding. Then everyone gets to work trying stuff out through rapid prototyping. If the prototypes feel good, iteration begins.

We have no design documents, though we probably have pictures of the whiteboards after each design discussion.

Doobie Doobie, Doobie Doobie, Doobie Doobie! *GOT anthem* ;)

My response might lack credibility as I have never released a game, but I have been using Game Maker for a while and thought I'd share what I've done in my recent projects.

I start with a prototype and make sure the core mechanic is fun to play. In my current project, this basically meant having a bunch of dummy sprites throwing axes at each other. I fine tuned the controls + movement/combat mechanics until it felt right.